Sassa Grant Application Eligibility Criteria

Sassa grants are helping people to recover from poverty and unemployment. The grants are dedicated to all types of situations like older persons, care dependency, child support, and disability grants. However, Sassa has a strict policy when it comes to Sassa grant application eligibility criteria. As this social income support program is introduced for the welfare of needy people only those can apply and get grant payments.

Sassa Grant Application Criteria

If you are not eligible for the Sassa grant and you applied it intentionally then you may also face a lawsuit against you. To know about the complete criteria of all types of Sassa grants you need to keep reading.

What is SASSA and What Types of Grants it Provides?

SASSA stands for South African Social Security Agency. It is a governmental program that is developed for the wellness of poor and needy people in South Africa. The program was first introduced in 2006 and since then it has catered to more than 16 million people around South Africa.

The main purpose of this agency is to provide social income support to the people who are facing poverty and unemployment. After the launch of this program, the growth rate of the country’s economy has improved as well. So Sassa grants are very important for income support and the development of unemployed persons.

Here are the types of grants that Sassa is offering:

  1. Social Relief of Distress Grant
  2. Older Persons Grant
  3. Disability Grant
  4. Care Dependency Grant
  5. Foster Child Grant
  6. Grant-In-Aid
  7. Child Support Grant
  8. War Veterans Grant

Sassa Grants Application Criteria 2023

Below is the list of all grant criteria. You need to fulfill these requirements if you want to apply for Sassa grants.

Sassa Grants Application Criteria 2023

SRD R350 (Social Relief of Distress) Grant

If you want to apply for the Sassa SRD R350 grant where you will receive 350 Rands every month then you need to follow these rules. All these rules are mandatory and you have to fulfill them to get your payment.

  • You need to be a permanent South African resident. However, if you are an Asylum Seeker then you should have a valid Section 22 Visa or permit. Refugees are also allowed.
  • Your age should be 18 years minimum and 60 years maximum.
  • Your financial status should be unemployed and there will be no income stream that you can utilize.
  • You also need to pass the Means test which is a test to determine your monthly income. Your income should not exceed R624 per month.
  • If you are already receiving any other types of Sassa grant or any other grant you are not qualified for this grant.
  • Your financial situation should fall into the poor category.
  • There will be no UIF or other payments that you are receiving.
  • If you are receiving a stipend from NSFAS (National Student Financial Aid Scheme) then you are not qualified.
  • You should not be a government employee.
  • You are eligible for the grant if you are medically unfit to work for less than 6 months.
  • If a Breadwinner passes away in the last three months, you can apply for this grant.
  • You should not be getting financial support from your parents, spouse, or child.
  • If you are a victim of a natural disaster and you fulfill the Disaster Management Act or the Fundraising Act, of 1978 then you can apply.

Older Persons Grant

  • You should be a permanent resident of South Africa, an asylum seeker, or a refugee.
  • The age limit is 60 years old.
  • Your spouse has to pass the Means test if you are married.
  • You should not be a candidate for any other social grant.
  • Should not be provided upkeep or attention within a governmental institution.

Disability Grant

  • This grant is for South African citizens, residents, and refugees.
  • The limit of age is between 18 to 59 years.
  • When applying for the grant, the medical evaluation should not exceed a 3-month timeframe.
  • Submission of evidence of disability (medical or assessment report) is required.
  • Should not receive care or support within a government-run facility.
  • If you are married then your spouse should have to pass the Means test.
  • You should not be receiving any type of social grant.

Care Dependency Grant

  • Only refugees, permanent residents, and citizens of South Africa can apply for this grant.
  • Both the candidate and child should be residents of South Africa.
  • The applicant who is applying on behalf of the caregiver should be the primary caregiver of the child.
  • The age limit for the children is below 18 years.
  • If the applicant is married, the spouse is required to adhere to the means test, with the exception of foster parents.
  • The applicant also needs to pass the Means test and foster parents are exceptional.
  • The children who need care should not be living in a government-run facility.
  • Foster parents’ income will not be factored in when they apply for this grant for their foster child.

Foster Child Grant

  • Foster parents need to be permanent residents, refugees, and citizens of South Africa.
  • Foster parents should have a court order confirming the foster care arrangement.
  • You should be the only caretaker of your foster child.


  • The applicant should be the beneficiary of either the Disability Grant, Older Person’s grant, or War Veterans grant.
  • Regular assistance from another person is necessary due to your physical or mental disabilities.
  • You should not be residing in a State Institution that receives financial support for the care or housing of individuals in your situation.

Child Support Grant

  • Eligible applicants for this grant include refugees, permanent residents, and South African citizens.
  • Both the candidate and the child must be residents of South Africa.
  • The applicant, who is applying as the primary caregiver, should be the primary caregiver of the child.
  • Children eligible for this grant must be below 18 years of age.
  • In the case of a married applicant, the spouse must undergo a means test, with the exception of foster parents.
  • Passing the means test is a requirement for all applicants, except for foster parents.
  • Children in need of care should not reside in government-run facilities.
  • Foster parents’ income will not be considered when applying for this grant for their foster child.

War Veterans Grant

  • The applicant should have a permanent residency, asylum seeker permit, or refugee of South Africa.
  • The age limit is 60 years.
  • The applicant should be disabled.
  • The applicant should have served in the Korean War and World War 2.
  • If the applicant is married then his/her spouse must take a Means test.
  • The applicant should not be a beneficiary of any other Sassa grant.
  • Should not be under the care or custody of a State Institution.


Who qualifies for a SASSA grant?

If you are a resident of South Africa, have no job or source of income, have a disability, or have passed the Means test then you are eligible for the Sassa grant.

What are the qualification criteria for SASSA R350?

The qualification criteria for Sassa R350 are to be unemployed and must have less than R624 per monthly income.

Who qualifies for the SASSA Old Age Grant 2023?

To qualify for an old age grant, the applicant’s age should be 60 years or above and have passed the Means test.

How do I fix a declined SASSA application?

You can apply for reconsideration if your Sassa application is declined.


So these are the qualification criteria for all types of Sassa grants. If you want to apply for any of the Sassa grants like SRD R350 you can check the qualification rules above. If you think that you are the perfect candidate for these grants then wait no more and apply today. Also, if you have any questions in your mind, you can ask us in the comment box. We will reply to your queries for sure.

Similar Posts